Disguise

You called yourself ‘love’

As you entered my life.

Like a rock,

But you broke my bones

Crushed my soul.

Like a fresh breeze,

But you whipped past in a jiffy

Caused chaos in my order.

Like a guiding light,

But you led me the wrong way

Ran out and left me in darkness.

Like a helping hand,

But you helped me break myself

Helped me become helpless.

The truth is,

You were like nothing

I thought you were.

And now,

I’m nothing of what

I used to be.


(I’m going to try and start recommending songs to listen to while reading these poems. Click on the song to listen to it on YouTube!

Song for ‘Disguise’: Brave – Jhene Aiko)

One thought on “Disguise

Leave a response and make my day!

